main banner

Thursday, January 20, 2011

Candidates line up for Fairfax County School Board election

Five candidates are planning to seek endorsements from the Fairfax County Democratic Committee to run for at-large seats on the Fairfax County School Board. They are:
  • Greg Brandon (a resident of the Springfield District)—treasurer of Longfellow Middle School PTA and former president of Chesterbrook Elementary School PTA.
  • Charisse Glassman (Providence)—parent activist and member of the FCPS Advanced Academic Programs Advisory Committee and the Minority Student Achievement Oversight Committee.
  • Robert Schwaninger (Mason)—member of the Fairfax County advisory committee on redistricting, member of the Fairfax County Redevelopment and Housing Authority Commission, and 2006 Mason District Citizen of the Year.
  • Herb Smith (Mason)—political activist and former special education teacher.
  • Ted Velkoff (Sully)—former president of the Chantilly High School PTSA; former treasurer of the Chantilly, Rocky Run Middle School, and Poplar Tree Elementary School PTA; treasurer of the Chuck Caputo for Delegate and Kathy Smith for School Board campaigns.
The FCPS School Board consists of one representative from each of the county’s nine magisterial districts plus three members elected at-large. Two of the incumbent at-large board members, Tina Hone and James Raney, have decided not to run for re-election. The third at-large member, Ilryong Moon, has not announced whether he will run again. Sandy Evans, the Mason District representative on the board, will seek a second term. School board elections are officially non-partisan but the political parties endorse candidates.

No comments:

Post a Comment