George Mason Regional Library celebrated its 60th anniversary Saturday with a full day of children’s entertainment.
The day began with a lion dance performed by members of Girl Scout Troop 2016. Other events on the agenda include African storyteller and musician Kofi Dennis, demonstrations by a local Harley Davidson club and the Fairfax Fire and Rescue Department, magician Mike Rose at 2 p.m., and the Rocknoceros music group at 3:30 p.m.
A survey of Mason District residents shows “people like libraries,” said Supervisor Penny Gross. “In almost every case, their experience with libraries has always been first rate.”
The library’s first home, 1955-59, was in the Turnpike Press Building at 7331 Little River Turnpike. Annandale attorney C. Douglas Adams Jr., the leader of the Annandale Library Committee, had petitioned the county and Library Board of Trustees to establish a library in the area, and David Scull, a local civil rights advocate, agreed to provide space in the building owned by his publishing committee at a nominal rent of $75 a month.
In 1960, the library reopened in a storefront at the Old Post Office Building at 4255 Annandale Road next to a pizza parlor.
The library moved to its current location, 7001 Little River Turnpike by Hillbrook Avenue, in January 1965. The facility was built with funding from a county bond issue. George Mason was designated a regional library in 1971. The building was expanded in 1974, and a new meeting room was later named for Scull. The building was renovated again in 1982 after it was damaged in a fire.