main banner

Friday, March 8, 2013

Planning Commissioner Pete Murphy is 2012 Fairfax County Citizen of the Year

The Fairfax County Federation of Citizens Associations has selected Planning Commissioner Peter “Pete” Murphy as the 2012 Citizen of the Year.

Murphy will be honored at the annual awards banquet sponsored by the federation and Science Applications International Corp. (SAIC) on April 7 at the Tysons Corner Crowne Plaza Hotel.

Murphy has been chairman of the Fairfax County Planning Commission for over 20 years and has hosted the Planning Commission’s “Roundtable” television program for the past 10 years.
“He has led the Planning Commission with fairness, professionalism, and a sense of humor while presiding over hundreds of public hearings involving the future of land use in Fairfax County,” the federation states. A resident of Burke, Murphy has contributed over 30 years of dedicated public service to the Planning Commission, Celebrate Fairfax Inc., the Fairfax County Telecommunications Task Force, the Fairfax County VRE Station Study Task Force, and many other organizations.

“Commissioner Murphy’s leadership has shaped Fairfax County into a national example for quality of life through citizen involvement in planning decisions,” said Federation President Tania Hossain.

The federation will also award two 2012 Citations of Merit: Rose Chu of Bailey’s Crossroads will be honored for her tireless outreach to the Asian American community on a range of issues, including public health, voter registration, voter education, and small business opportunities. Phyllis Payne of Mantua will be recognized for her passionate work to increase awareness of teen sleep needs and the need for later school start times.

In addition, Kyle Talente will be presented with a Special Gratitude Award for his leadership in the improvement of the Richmond Highway corridor.

Finally, the federation will recognize the Kate Hanley as its first recipient of the Lifetime Achievement/Special Gratitude Award. Hanley has served as chair of the Fairfax County Board of Supervisors for three terms, from 1995 to 2003, during a period of explosive growth and transformation. “Her devotion to public service has made her a champion of the Tysons redevelopment, expansion of human services and homeless prevention, access to the arts, electoral reform education, and health care issues,” the federation states.

Annandale Blog readers are encouraged to come to the Citizen of the Year Banquet and join Annandale Blog editor Ellie Ashford, recipient of a 2011 Citation of Merit, and Blog Advertising Director Mollie Loeffler, the 2010 Fairfax County Citizen of the Year, at the Mason District table. You can sign up on the federation website.

No comments:

Post a Comment