main banner

Wednesday, May 16, 2018

Absentee voting under way for June 12 primary

Absentee voting is underway for the primary elections on June 12.

There will be Republican primary to select a candidate to run against Tim Kaine, the Democrat representing Virginia in the U.S. Senate. No Democratic candidates are running against Kaine.

There are three candidates in the Republic primary for Kaine’s seat: Corey Stewart, chair of the Prince William Board of Supervisors, who calls himself an “unapologetic Trump supporter”; Del. Nick Freitas, who snagged the NRA endorsement; and E.W. Jackson, a minister who once said yoga leads to Satan and gay people are ill.

Any registered voter can vote in a Republican or Democratic primary – regardless of their party affiliation – but not both.

While all 11 Virginia members of the U.S. House of Representatives are up for re-election in November, neither member who represents the Annandale/Mason District area – Rep. Gerry Connolly (D-11th District) nor Rep. Don Beyer (D-8th District) – have primary opponents.

There will be primaries, however, in Virginia’s 10th congressional district, which is held by Rep. Barbara Comstock, a Republican. The 10th district covers parts of western Fairfax County and Loudoun County.

Shak Hill is opposing Comstock in the Republican primary. There are six candidates in the Democratic primary: Lindsey Davis Stover, Jennifer Wexton, Paul Pelletier, Alison Friedman, Dan Helmer, and Julia Biggins. All of them stress their support for various forms of gun control, while Comstock has an A rating from the National Rifle Association. 

The polls will be open June 12 6 a.m.-7 p.m. The deadline to register to vote is May 21. Check your voter registration status and look up your polling place here.

In-person absentee voting for the primaries takes place at the Fairfax County Government and ends at 5 p.m. on June 9. Absentee voting will also take place at satellite locations, including the Mason Government Center, only on one day: June 9, 9 a.m.-5 p.m.The deadline to request an absentee ballot by mail is June 5. Absentee ballots must be received by 7 p.m. on June 12.

No comments:

Post a Comment