main banner

Wednesday, January 9, 2019

More candidates running for Board of Supervisors

More candidates have surfaced since we last reported on the 2019 elections for the Board of Supervisors.

There are now three candidates vying in a Democratic primary for BoS chair to succeed Sharon Bulova, who is not running for re-election:
  • Tim Chapman, managing member of Chapman Development LLC and former chair of the Virginia Housing Development Authority. 
  • Ryan McElveen, an at large member of the Fairfax County School Board since 2012. 
  • Jeff McKay, Lee District supervisor since 2007. McKay has lined up a long list of endorsements, including Rep. Gerry Connolly; Sharon Bulova; supervisors Penny Gross (Mason), Kathy Smith (Sully), John Foust (Dranesville), Cathy Hudgins (Hunter Mill), and Dan Storck (Mount Vernon; Virginia Attorney General Mark Herring; and several state legislators. 
No Republican candidates for BoS chair have surfaced yet, although Supervisor Pat Herrity (Springfield) is reportedly considering running.

The primaries are June 11, and the election is Nov. 5.

There are three Democratic candidates vying for McKay’s Lee District seat on the board:
  • Larysa Kautz, a lawyer and chief of staff of Melwood, a nonprofit that creates jobs for people with disabilities.  
  • Rodney Lusk, the national marketing director for the Fairfax County Economic Development Authority.
  • James Migliaccio, the Lee District member of the Fairfax County Planning Commission. He has been endorsed by Del. Mark Sickles and state Sen. Adam Ebbin, among others. 
Four candidates are running in the Democratic primary to succeed Providence Supervisor Linda Smyth, who is retiring at the end of 2019:
  • Edythe Kelleher, executive director of the Southeast Fairfax Development Corporation and a  former member of the Vienna Town Council. 
  • Phillip Niedzielski-Eichner, a member of the Fairfax County Planning Commission (Providence), former member of the Fairfax County School Board, former member of the Park Authority Board, and former member of the Ad Hoc Police Practices Review Commission. 
  • Dalia Palchik, the Providence member of the Fairfax County School Board. She has been endorsed by Sharon Bulova. 
  • Erica Yalowitz, vice president of the Providence District Council, corresponding secretary of the Fairfax Federation, and member of the Emerging Leaders Council of the Tyson Partnership. 
The Fairfax County Republican Committee has not yet announced any candidates for the BoS. Gary Aiken, a Republican, however, is challenging longtime Democratic BoS member Penny Gross in Mason District.

It’s uncertain whether Hudgins will run again. While Storck, Foust, and Smith are expected to seek re-election, only Storck has an updated campaign website so far.

If Herrity runs again for the Springfield seat on the BoS, rather than board chair, he will face a Democratic challenger, Linda Sperling, a marketing professional and community activist.

In the Braddock District, Democratic candidate James Walkinshaw, an aide to Rep. Gerry Connolly, is hoping to succeed John Cook, the other Republican on the board, who is not seeking re-election.

No comments:

Post a Comment